Limbo Days – a poem of grief

When I read the moving poem by @debbierea on her web site, “On the Death of my Father”, I was reminded of this poem I wrote after the death of my mother many years ago. I do urge you to read Debbie’s beautiful poem.

Limbo Days

In Limbo days I knew no pain
Nor sorrow for the cold cold flesh.

Upon the bone was only dust
And in my heart no sense of loss.

No tears fell into timelessness
From eyes blind to finality.
________________

But limbo days crept into time
And time began to know a change.

Love lingered long around the grave
Bewildered by the missing days.

Dust upon the bone; and I
Could wish for limbo days again.

 

About Sheila

Writer of fiction and non-fiction, Christian, Methodist, and cat lover. Co founder of publishing house, Colourpoint Books, now Colourpoint Creative Ltd. Northern Ireland
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

